British Champions Day

British Champions Day 2015: Where Champions are crowned

As well as celebrating some of the best horses in the World at QIPCO British Champions Day, the Flat season’s Champion Flat Jockey will be crowned at this meeting for the first time.

Generously sponsored by Stobart Group, the battle to be crowned Champion in 2015 has been contested over a shortened Championship season that has run from 2nd May, QIPCO 2000 Guineas Day and will come to its conclusion on QIPCO British Champions Day.

For the first time there will be £105,000 of prize money for the Jockeys’ Championship funded by Great British Racing and British Champions Series. This will see the Champion Jockey financially rewarded for their efforts with a prize of £25,000, bringing racing into line with other sports that remunerate their champions. However, there are financial rewards and recognition for jockeys from across the Weighing Room.

Jockeys’ Prize Money will be distributed as follows:

Champion Jockey:
Champion Apprentice:
Leading Jockey (most wins throughout the full calendar year):£15,000
All-weather Champion:£10,000
PJA Welfare Scheme for all members:£25,000


Throughout the Championship a Jockey of the Month Award, in association with Channel 4, has been made by a panel of leading industry journalists and for which all members of the Weighing Room are eligible. Each month the winner receives £2,000, as well as £500 for a charity of their choice.

Jockey of the Month winners

May 2015   Ryan Moore (other shortlisted riders: James Doyle; Paul Mulrennan)

June 2015   Frankie Dettori (other shortlisted riders: Sammy Jo Bell, Ryan Moore)

July 2015    Silvestre De Sousa (other shortlisted riders: Paul Hanagan, Phillip Makin)

August 2015    Paul Mulrennan (other shortlisted riders: Sammy Jo Bell, Frankie Dettori, Silvestre De Sousa)


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Scroll to Top