Ruby Walsh, the record holder, enjoyed two winners at The Festival in 2012 as did AP (Tony) McCoy, the 17-time champion Jump jockey, but it was Barry Geraghty, who landed the Thomas Pink Award for being the most successful rider over the four days in March with five victories,

Geraghty’s total number of winners at The Festival jumped to 25, putting him in third place among current jockeys and equal third since 1945. He also enjoyed five victories at The Festival when leading jockey in 2003.

Walsh’s successes in 2012 were on horses that made history by winning for the fourth consecutive time in their races, Quevega in the OLBG Mares Hurdle and Big Buck’s in the Ladbrokes World Hurdle.

He became the most successful jockey ever at The Festival in 2010, when surpassing the previous record of 25 winners held by the late Pat Taaffe. Walsh, now on 34 Festival victories, has captured the Thomas Pink Leading Rider Award six times. McCoy is in second place with a total of 27 Festival successes.

Previous winners of the Thomas Pink Leading Rider Award (past 10 years only):

2012 Barry Geraghty (5)
2011 Ruby Walsh (5)
2010 Ruby Walsh (3)
2009 Ruby Walsh (7)
2008 Ruby Walsh (3)
2007 Robert Thornton (4)
2006 Ruby Walsh (3)
2005 Graham Lee (3)
2004 Ruby Walsh (3)
2003 Barry Geraghty (5)



What to read next on Eclipse Magazine