Friday 12th October – Newmarket – 3:35 – 1m (Row) bet365 Fillies’ Mile (Group 1) (Class 1) (2yo)

The Fillies’ Mile was established in 1973 and was originally run at Ascot, achieving Group 3 status in 1975. The race was upgraded to Group 2 in 1986, finally achieving Group 1 status in 1990. The race was temporarily switched to Newmarket in 2005 when Ascot was closed for redevelopment. The race was transferred on a permanent basis to Newmarket in 2011.

The betting can be a guide to finding the winner of the Fillies’ Mile as horses in the first two in the betting have won eight times in the last 12 years.

Recent winning form is a useful guide as eight of the last 12 winners winning on their last start. All 12 ran within 29 days of the race.

Five of the last 12 winners had run at Newmarket previously and nine of the last 12 winners had previously run over the race distance of 1 mile. Eleven of the last 12 winners had run at least three times prior to the race and nine winners had also won at least twice earlier in the season.

Aiden O’Brien runners bear more than a second glance as his runners have won the Fillies’ Mile four times in the last 11 years.

Previous Group winning form is important with eight of the last 12 winners winning at least once in a Group 1 to 3 race. An Official Rating of 95 or higher has been required to win the race in six of the last 12 renewals.

Aidan O’Brien saddles Hermosa who is currently joint favourite for the race. The Bay Filly won on her last start in the Group 3 Weld Park Stakes under Ryan Moore by 2½ lengths having previously finished third in the Group 1 Moyglare Stud Stakes. She steps up to 1 mile for the first time but was running on strongly when winning last time and looks well set to see out the longer trip.

Please note: tips are followed at your own risk. Please gamble responsibly.  

What to read next on Eclipse Magazine