The Earl of March took over the management of the Goodwood Estate Company from his father the 10th Duke of Richmond in 1994.
He lives in Goodwood House with his wife Lady March (nee Janet Astor) and their children Charles, William, Eloise and Frederick. He also has a daughter Alexandra from his first marriage.
Lord March is the founder of the Goodwood Festival of Speed (1993) and the Goodwood Revival, the first of which was held in September, 1998, after he re-opened the motor circuit. Goodwood motor racing was originally founded by the Earl of March’s grandfather (the ninth Duke of Richmond) in 1948.
Before taking over the management of the Goodwood Estate, Lord March was a well-known London advertising photographer under the name of Charles Settrington, having first worked for the film director Stanley Kubrick, after leaving school at the first possible opportunity!
The Goodwood group of companies is comprised of Goodwood Racecourse (horse racing), the Goodwood Road Racing Company (Festival of Speed, Motor Circuit and Goodwood Revival), Golf At Goodwood (a completely new and unique way of enjoying golf membership), Goodwood Farm (a 3,000-acre fully organic farm and dairy), Goodwood Aerodrome (flying school, Aero Club, aircraft engineering and aerodrome operation) and The Goodwood Hotel (94-bedroom hotel).
The Goodwood Estate covers 11,500 acres of Sussex to the north of Chichester. The group employs over 400 people and attracts around 800,000 people to the Estate each year.
Lord March is President of the BARC (British Automobile Racing Club), Patron of the TT Riders Association and an Honorary Member of the BRDC, the 500 Owners Club and the Guild of Motoring Writers.