Grand National 2016: The 40 declared runners

declared runners: The Grand National at Aintree Racecourse is a Grade Three handicap chase, with a £1,000,000 total prize fund.

The race will start at 5.15pm on Saturday 9th April, 2016. It is four miles, two and a half furlongs (4m 2f 74yds) long.


HorseAgeWeightOwnerTrainerBooked Jockey
1MANY CLOUDS (IRE)911-10Trevor HemmingsOliver SherwoodLeighton Aspell
2SILVINIACO CONTI (FR)1011-08Potensis Bloodstock Ltd & Chris GilesPaul NichollsNoel Fehily
3FIRST LIEUTENANT (IRE)1111-04Gigginstown House StudMouse Morris IREBryan Cooper
4WONDERFUL CHARM (FR)811-03Robin GeffenPaul NichollsSam Twiston-Davies
5BALLYNAGOUR (IRE)1011-02Allan StennettDavid PipeTom Scudamore
6O’FAOLAINS BOY (IRE)911-01Trembath, Hyde, Outhart & HillRebecca CurtisBrian Hughes
7GILGAMBOA (IRE)811-01J P McManusEnda Bolger IRERobbie Power
8ON HIS OWN (IRE)1211-01Andrea & Graham WylieWillie Mullins IREMr Patrick Mullins
9THE DRUIDS NEPHEW (IRE)911-00The Stonehenge DruidsNeil MulhollandDenis O’Regan
10TRIOLO D’ALENE (FR)911-00Sandy & Caroline OrrNicky HendersonJeremiah McGrath
11ROCKY CREEK (IRE)1010-13The Johnson & Stewart FamiliesPaul NichollsAndrew Thornton
12SIR DES CHAMPS (FR)1010-13Gigginstown House StudWillie Mullins IRERuby Walsh
13HOLYWELL (IRE)910-12Gay SmithJonjo O’NeillRichie McLernon
14SHUTTHEFRONTDOOR (IRE)910-11J P McManusJonjo O’NeillBarry Geraghty
15SOLL1110-11Derrick MossopDavid PipeConor O’Farrell
16BUYWISE (IRE)910-10T Hywel JonesEvan WilliamsPaul Moloney
17BOSTON BOB (IRE)1110-10Andrea & Graham WylieWillie Mullins IREPaul Townend
18AACHEN1210-10Tony BloomVenetia WilliamsHenry Brooke
19MORNING ASSEMBLY (IRE)910-9Clipper Logistics Group LtdPat Fahy IREDavy Russell
20DOUBLE ROSS (IRE)1010-9Options O SyndicateNigel Twiston-DaviesRyan Hatch
21GOONYELLA (IRE)910-8Ann & Alan Potts PartnershipJim Dreaper IREJonathan Burke
22UCELLO CONTI (FR)810-8Simon Munir/Isaac SouedeGordon Elliott IREDaryl Jacob
23UNIONISTE (FR)810-8John HalesPaul NichollsNick Scholfield
24LE REVE (IRE)810-8Pat BettsLucy WadhamHarry Skelton
25GALLANT OSCAR (IRE)1010-8J P McManusTony Martin IREMark Walsh
26ONENIGHTINVIENNA (IRE)710-8Judith LuffPhilip HobbsTom O’Brien
27THE LAST SAMURI (IRE)810-8Paul & Clare RooneyKim BaileyDavid Bass
28KRUZHLININ (GER)910-7Paul & Clare RooneyPhilip HobbsRichard Johnson
29RULE THE WORLD910-7Gigginstown House StudMouse Morris IREDavid Mullins
30JUST A PAR (IRE)910-06Graham Roach & Paul BarberPaul NichollsSean Bowen
31KATENKO (FR)1010-06Andrew BrooksVenetia WilliamsWill Kennedy
32VICS CANVAS (IRE)1310-06Bodeen Bandits PartnershipDermot McLoughlin IRERobert Dunne
33BLACK THUNDER (FR)910-06Donlon, MacDonald, Fulton & WebbPaul NichollsGavin Sheehan
34BALLYCASEY (IRE)910-06Susannah RicciWillie Mullins IREMs Katie Walsh
35HADRIAN’S APPROACH (IRE)910-06Richard & Lizzie Kelvin-HughesNicky HendersonNico de Boinville
36VIEUX LION ROUGE (FR)710-05Prof Caroline Tisdall & John GentDavid PipeJames Reveley
37PENDRA (IRE)810-05J P McManusCharlie LongsdonAidan Coleman
38SAINT ARE (FR)1010-05David FoxTom GeorgePaddy Brennan
39HOME FARM (IRE)910-04Chris JonesHenry de Bromhead IREAndrew Lynch
40THE ROMFORD PELE (IRE)910-04Trembath & OuthartRebecca CurtisTrevor Whelan


40 runners


The four reserves are:

41 BISHOPS ROAD (IRE)   8 10-03 Alan Halsall Kerry Lee

42 KNOCK HOUSE (IRE)     7 10-03 Tim Radford Mick Channon Miss Nina Carberry

43 PERFECT CANDIDATE (IRE)     9 10-02 ISL Recruitment    Fergal O’Brien Conor Shoemark

44 MAGGIO (FR) 11 10-02 D G Pryde/James Beaumont Patrick Griffin IRE

Reserves can come into the race if there are any non-runners from the declared field of 40 before 1.00pm tomorrow, Friday, 8th April.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Scroll to Top