Horse Racing Ireland Award Winners, Aidan O'Brien, Grade One novices' hurdles,Champion British Trainer

Horse Racing Ireland Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2016 Horse Racing Ireland (HRI) Awards were announced at Leopardstown Racecourse on Monday 5th December, at a reception attended by many of the industry’s leading trainers, jockeys and owners.

Guest of honour was Minister of Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Michael Creed TD and guests were welcomed by Chairman of HRI, Joe Keeling.

The winners at the 14th annual awards ceremony were as follows:

  • Horse of the Year Award: Minding
  • National Hunt Award: Willie Mullins
  • Flat Award: Aidan O’Brien
  • Contribution to the Industry Award: Mrs Maureen Mullins
  • Outstanding Achievement Award: Mouse Morris
  • Point-To-Point Award: Jamie Codd
  • Racecourse of the Year Award: Galway Racecourse

Minding, trained by Aidan O’Brien and owned by Derrick Smith, Mrs John Magnier and Michael Tabor, won five of the seven Group 1 races she contested this year. She was successful in the 1,000 Guineas at Newmarket in May and the Epsom Oaks before taking the Pretty Polly Stakes at the Curragh, the Nassau Stakes at Goodwood and the Queen Elizabeth II Stakes at Ascot in October.

The National Hunt Award went to Champion Trainer Willie Mullins, who had another fantastic season with 34 Grade 1 wins worldwide, including seven at the Cheltenham Festival. Willie also saddled six Grade 1 winners at the Punchestown Festival, won the Guinness Galway Hurdle in July and enjoyed a first Classic winner with Wicklow Brave in the Palmerstown House Estate Irish St Leger at the Curragh.

Aidan O’Brien (pictured) won the Flat Award after a truly remarkable year where he enjoyed 22 Group 1 wins worldwide along with a 1-2-3 in both the Newmarket 1,000 Guineas and the Prix De l’Arc De Triomphe. Champion Trainer in Ireland once again with 117 victories, he was also Champion Trainer in Britain with 13 Group 1 victories alone.

Brian Kavanagh, Chief Executive of Horse Racing Ireland, presented the Contribution to the Industry Award to the matriarch of the Mullins racing dynasty, Mrs Maureen Mullins. Maureen has been part of the Irish racing landscape for the best part of six decades and was married to one of Ireland’s greatest ever trainers, the late Paddy Mullins.

Brian Kavanagh said: “It was a pleasure to present the Contribution to the Industry award to a very special lady who is a most deserving winner. From the likes of Hurry Harriet, Dawn Run, Grabel and Vintage Tipple, Maureen has witnessed the highs of racing on many occasions and is without doubt one of the most popular figures on the Irish racing scene.”

Trainer Mouse Morris won the Outstanding Achievement Award, which was decided by both the Irish racing media and racing fans. Mouse remarkably saddled the winner of both the Irish Grand National and the Aintree Grand National in the same season. Rogue Angel and Ger Fox prevailed in the BoyleSports Irish Grand National, while just 12 days later, Rule The World and David Mullins won the Aintree Crabbie’s Grand National.

Jockey Jamie Codd picked up the Point-To-Point Award after winning a second national rider’s title despite suffering a serious injury on the opening day of the season. Jamie also guided Cause Of Causes to a second consecutive Cheltenham Festival win before deputising aboard On The Fringe to win the Aintree Foxhunters and he also recorded a first winner at the Galway Festival.

The Racecourse of the Year Award went to Galway Racecourse. It was selected by the Racegoers’ Consultative Forum based upon the best all-round customer experience.

Chairman of HRI, Joe Keeling commented: “The Horse Racing Ireland Awards allow us to shine the spotlight on the amazing achievements in Irish racing throughout the year. As always, the standard of nominations was extremely high and I would like to congratulate the very worthy winners and wish everyone in the Irish racing industry continued success in 2017.”

The award winners received bronze trophies, created by sculptor Siobhan Bulfin.

The Winners and Nominees for the 2016 Awards are as follows:


Gordon Elliott
Jack Kennedy
Willie Mullins – WINNER
Ruby Walsh


Seamie Heffernan
Aidan O’Brien – WINNER
Pat Smullen
Dermot Weld


Enda Bolger
Jamie Codd – WINNER
Wilson Dennison
Liz Lalor
Barry O’Neill


Adrian Keatley
John Kiely
Mouse Morris – WINNER
David Mullins
Joseph O’Brien/Donnacha O’Brien
Kevin Prendergast


Annie Power
Don Cossack
Highland Reel
Minding – WINNER


The Contribution to the Industry Award was presented to Mrs Maureen Mullins. Previous winners include Des Scahill, Mick O’Toole, Jim Bolger, Moyglare Stud, Dermot Weld, Colm Murray and Michael Kinane.

Galway Racecourse

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Scroll to Top