1605 (February 27) – James I visits Newmarket and likes what he sees.

1609 (March) – First reference to the King attending a horse race at Newmarket.

1765 – The July Meeting is staged for the first time.

1786 – The July Stakes is first run, making it the oldest two-year-old race staged in Britain.

1876 – Springfield wins the initial running of the July Cup.

1894 – Triple Crown hero Isinglass wins the inaugural running of the Princess of Wales’s Stakes.

1904 – Sundridge completes a hat-trick to become the first and only three-time winner of the July Cup.

1911 – The Falmouth Stakes is inaugurated in honour of the sixth Viscount Falmouth.

1941 (January) – Two German bombs explode on the July Course.

1947 – Great Fun wins the first Cherry Hinton Stakes.

1972 – First running of the race that is now the Superlative Stakes.

1973 – Previously restricted to three-year-olds, the Falmouth Stakes is opened up to older fillies and mares.

1978 – Princess of Wales’s Stakes becomes a Group Two contest.

1987 – The Falmouth Stakes attains Group Two status.

1991 – The Bernard Van Cutsem Stakes is renamed the Superlative Stakes.

1996 – Dazzle wins the first running of the Cherry Hinton Stakes as a Group Two contest.

2000 – Agnes World becomes the first Japanese-trained horse to win a British Group One race when landing the July Cup.

2003 – The July Stakes is upgraded to Group Two.

2004 – The Falmouth Stakes is run as a Group One race for the first time.

2006 – The Superlative Stakes becomes a Group Two contest.

2007 – Lester Piggott and Frankie Dettori re-open the July Course following its £10-million redevelopment.

2009 – The Bahrain Trophy becomes a Group Three race.