Eclipster: Royal Ascot Day 2 – French challenger looks interesting in Prince of Wales’s Stakes

Wednesday 19th June – 3:40pm – Royal Ascot – 1m 2f (1m 1f 212y) Prince Of Wales’s Stakes (Group 1) (British Champions Series) (Class 1) (4yo+)

The Prince of Wales Stakes was established in 1862 and named after the Prince of Wales at the time, the future King Edward VII and was originally contested over 1 mile 5 furlongs. The race is open to horses aged four years old or older. The race was discontinued after World War II as there was no Price of Wales, and was reinstated in 1968, a year before the investiture of Prince Charles as Prince of Wales. In its new format the race distance was changed to its current format of 1 mile 2 furlongs and the age requirement was lowered to allow three year olds to compete. In 1971 when the current grading system was introduced the race was classified as a Group 2 event and was elevated to Group 1 status in 2000 when the minimum age was raised to four again.

The betting is a very good guide to the winner of The Prince of Wales Stakes as in all of the last 12 renewals the winner has come from the first three in the betting but only five favourites winning over the same period. In fact only once in the last 32 renewals of the race has the winner come from outside the first four in the betting.

The last 26 renewals of the race have seen four year olds and five years old win on 22 occasions with six year old horses only being successful twice over the period.

Previous form over the race distance of 1 mile 2 furlongs should be noted as 10 of the last 12 winners had winning form over the distance and 10 of the last 12 winners had won at least four times over differing distances. It is also worth noting horses who ran in the race 12 months ago, as six of the last 15 winners ran in the race the previous season.

Current form is a good guide as 15 of the last 22 winners won on their previous start and 11 of the last 12 winners had run at least once earlier in the season. Winners of the current season’s Tattersalls Gold Cup which is run at The Curragh should be noted as the last eight winners running in The Prince of Wales Stakes have won four times. Winners of the Prix Ganay are also worthy of note as of the last five winners who have contested the race, two have won.

French trained horses should also be noted as they have won the race three times in the last 12 years.

An Official Rating of 119 or higher has been required to win the race on nine of the last 12 occasions and previous Group 1 winning form should be noted as eight of the last 12 winners had won previously at the highest level, whilst all 12 had won at Group level earlier in their careers.

The winners of both the Tattersalls Gold Cup and The Prix Ganay are represented in the race today. The winner of the aforementioned race Magical will be a short priced favourite. The four year old Ballydoyle bay filly is a high class performer who won twice in 2018, including the Fillies and Mares Stakes at Ascot. She has won on all three of her starts this season and is a strong favourite.

Prix Ganay winner Waldgeist, who is trained in France by Andre Fabre should offer some value in the betting ring. The five year old chestnut horse is also a high class performer and improved in 2018, winning four times including the Group 1 Grand Prix Saint-Cloud before finishing fourth in the prix D’Arc de Triomphe. He certainly brought his 2018 form into the new season by winning the Prix Ganay by 4½ lengths and should give the favourite something to think about.

Please note: tips are followed at your own risk. Please gamble responsibly.  

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Scroll to Top